printable versionPrint this page

National Reserve System Program

Category: Policy/Strategy
Sub Category:Policy/Strategy
Subject Matter:Environmental Heritage
Summary Information:
The establishment of the National Reserve System (NRS) Program under the Natural Heritage Trust meets the requirement under the National Strategy for the Conservation of Australia's Biological Diversity to establish a comprehensive, adequate and representative system of terrestrial protected areas. There is a separate program to establish marine protected areas.

The NRS Program was established in the 1996/97 financial year and provides $85 million over 5 years to meet the objectives of the program.
Detailed Information:

The national objectives of the National Reserve System Program are - through working with all levels of government, industry and the community - to:
a. establish and manage new ecologically significant protected areas for addition to Australia's terrestrial National Reserve System;
b. provide incentives for Indigenous people to participate in the National Reserve System through voluntary declaration of protected areas on their lands and support for greater involvement of Indigenous people in the management of existing statutory protected areas;
c. provide incentives for landholders (both private landholders and leaseholders) to strategically enhance the National Reserve System; and
d. develop and implement best practice standards for the management of Australia's National Reserve System.
Source: National Reserve System website

Related Entries

  • Financial Assistance Agreement
  • Organisation
  • Natural Heritage Trust
  • Department of the Environment and Heritage (Cth)
  • Legislation
  • Natural Heritage Trust of Australia Act 1997 (Cth)
  • Place
  • Deen Maar Indigenous Protected Area
  • Dhimurru Indigenous Protected Area
  • Guanaba Indigenous Protected Area
  • Mount Chappell Island Indigenous Protected Area
  • Badger Island Indigenous Protected Area
  • Nantawarrina Indigenous Protected Area
  • Walalkara Indigenous Protected Area
  • Oyster Cove Indigenous Protected Area
  • Paraku Indigenous Protected Area
  • Preminghana Indigenous Protected Area
  • Risdon Cove Indigenous Protected Area
  • Warul Kawa Indigenous Protected Area
  • Watarru Indigenous Protected Area
  • Yalata Indigenous Protected Area
  • Wattleridge Indigenous Protected Area
  • Toogimbie Indigenous Protected Area
  • Ngaanyatjarra Indigenous Protected Area
  • Mount Willoughby Indigenous Protected Area
  • Tyrendarra Indigenous Protected Area

  • References

    Environment Australia (Commonwealth Department of the Environment and Heritage) (2002) Indigenous Land Management. The Land Needs its People. Indigenous Protected Areas.
    Environment Australia (Commonwealth Department of the Environment and Heritage) (2002) The National Reserve System


    Policy/Strategy | Indigenous Protected Areas Programme (Australia)

    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey