printable versionPrint this page

MacDonnell Shire Council

Category: Organisation
Date: 1 July 2008
Sub Category:Local Government
State/Country:Northern Territory, Australia
Summary Information:
The MacDonnell Shire Council was established 1st July 2008 as part of the large scale amalgamation process of particular community government councils in the Northern Territory. The existing community government councils were absorbed by eight new Shire Councils (Edgar, 247). The previous community government areas of Ltyentye Apurte, Imanpa, Walungurru, Ntaria, Watiyawanu, Wallace Rockhole, Aputula, Kaltukatjara, Areyonga, Ikuntji, Amoonguna, Tapatjatjaka, Papunya were all amalgamated with the MacDonnell Shire Council.
Detailed Information:
The Shire is responsible for local government functions for over 268,887kms of land. 'The Shire comprises of 13 major remote communities, many outstations and commercial enterprises such as Tourism, Mining and Pastoral properties scattered throughout the Shire' (Shire Website).

The Shire consists of 4 wards and 12 Councillors that are elected to represent these wards:
- Luritja Pintubi Ward (3 Councillors)
- Iyarrka Ward (2 Councillors)
- Ljirapinta Ward (3 Councillors)
- Rodinga Ward (4 Councillors)
(Shire Website).

Related Entries

  • Areyonga Community Council
  • Legislation
  • Local Government Act 2008 (NT)
  • People
  • Imanpa Community
  • Areyonga Aboriginal Community

  • Glossary

    Aboriginal Community Council (Australia)

    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey