Department of Further Education, Employment, Science and Technology (SA)

Category: Organisation
Binomial Name: South Australian Government
Sub Category:State Government
Location:South Australia, Australia
Alternative Names:
  • URL:
    Summary Information:
    Department of Further Education, Employment, Science and Technology (DFEEST) 'is a new agency contributing to the economic prosperity and social well-being of South Australia through workforce development which focuses on skill formation and employment development, and by building the research and innovative capacity of the State' (DFEEST Website, January 2007).
    Detailed Information:
    Its responsibilities include:

  • whole of government advice on skill formation, employment, research, technology and innovation to underpin economic development and social inclusion

  • maximising the benefits to South Australia from the scientific, technological, research, innovation and further education strengths of the State

  • strategic planning and policy development in vocational education and training, adult community education and higher education to promote quality, accessibility and enhanced skill formation outcomes from the State’s further education infrastructure

  • management of TAFE SA, South Australia’s public provider of vocational education and training

  • management of the State’s interface with industry and commerce on training matters

  • management of the State’s interaction with the Commonwealth Government on vocational education, employment and science matters, and in so doing maximising South Australia’s funding and advantage from national programs

  • provision of strategic policy advice for the information economy and the ICT and biotechnology sectors

  • contributing to the establishment of South Australia as a preferred international education capital, including through a refocused Education Adelaide

  • development of the State’s research capacity and infrastructure involving both higher education and industry

  • supporting the Premier’s Science and Research Council as the source of strategic advice to Government

  • provision of a leadership focus for the State’s interactions with universities' (DFEEST Website, January 2007).

  • Related Entries

  • Port Augusta/Davenport Communities 'Polly Farmer Foundation' Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA) - Signatory
  • Pukatja 'Wali K - Establishing a service to repair windows and door frames' Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA) - Signatory
  • Organisation
  • State of South Australia

  • References

    Department of Further Education, Employment, Science and Technology, State of South Australia DFEEST Responsibilities