Back to search results

printable versionPrint this page

City of Whitehorse

Category: Organisation
Sub Category:Local Government
Location:Eastern suburbs of Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Summary Information:
The City of Whitehorse was created in December 1994 through the amalgamation of the former Cities of Nunawading and Box Hill. Commissioners were appointed to oversee the establishment of the new City.

At the time of the 1991 Census of Housing and Population, 208 people in Whitehorse identified themselves as Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islanders. This represented 0.15% of the enumerated population of Whitehorse.

Related Entries

  • Aboriginal Recognition Working Group
  • Whitehorse Friends for Reconciliation
  • Event
  • Statement of Commitment to Indigenous Peoples by the Cities of Banyule, Manningham, Whitehorse and Shire of Nillumbik - Signatory
  • Policy/Strategy
  • City of Whitehorse Reconciliation Statement of Commitment and Action Plan - Signatory

  • References

    Australian Local Government Association in Cooperation with the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission (1999) Working Out Agreements: A Practical Guide to Agreements between Local Government & Indigenous Australians


    Local Government

    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey