printable versionPrint this page

Council of Australian Governments

Category: Organisation
Sub Category:Representative Body
Alternative Names:
  • COAG
  • URL:
    Summary Information:
    The Council of Australian Governments is comprised of the Prime Minister, Premiers and Chief Ministers of the States and Territories, and the President of the Australian Local Government Association. It was established in 1992 with the objective of initiating, developing and monitoring the implementation of policy reforms that are of national significance and which require cooperative action by Australian governments.

    Related Entries

  • Tennant Creek 'A Safer Community through Elders' Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA)
  • Wadeye Shared Responsibility Agreement
  • Agreement for the Provision and Management of Housing and Infrastructure for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander People in Queensland (excluding the Torres Strait Region)
  • Agreement for the Provision and Management of Housing and Related Infrastructure for Indigenous People in the Northern Territory
  • Tjurabalan Community Participation Agreement
  • Murdi Paaki Shared Responsibility Agreement
  • Greater Shepparton Shared Responsibility Agreement
  • Western Australian Framework Agreement on Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health
  • ACT Shared Responsibility Agreement
  • Overarching Agreement on Indigenous Affairs between the Commonwealth of Australia and the Northern Territory of Australia
  • Lockhart River 'Empower the Community' Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA)
  • Hope Vale 'Partnership' Shared Responsibility Agreement
  • Agreement on Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Service Delivery between The Commonwealth of Australia and The Government of Queensland
  • Meenah Mienne Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA)
  • Murdi Paaki Regional Partnership Agreement (RPA)
  • National Indigenous Reform Agreement - Closing the Gap
  • Organisation
  • Indigenous Communities Coordination Taskforce
  • Event
  • Council of Australian Governments' Communiqué - Signatory
  • Indigenous Issues Position Statement
  • 'Close the Gap' Indigenous Health Equality Summit Statement of Intent
  • 'Close the Gap' Statement of Intent (Queensland)
  • Policy/Strategy
  • Whole of Government Initiatives
  • Cape York COAG Trial
  • Anangu Pitjantjatjara Lands COAG Trial
  • North Eastern Tasmania COAG Trial
  • National Framework of Principles for Delivering Services to Indigenous Australians
  • National Framework on Indigenous Family Violence and Child Protection
  • Framework to Advance Reconciliation
  • Education Pathways Strategy
  • Partnerships Queensland: Future Directions Framework for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Policy in Queensland 2005-2010
  • National Commitment to Improved Outcomes in the Delivery of Programs and Services for Aboriginal Peoples and Torres Strait Islanders
  • 'Pathways to Community Control' Co-operative Framework

  • References

    Council of Australian Governments (2004) ACT Shared Responsibility Agreement


    Representative Body | Shared Responsibility Agreement (SRA) (Australia) | Regional Partnership Agreement (RPA) (Australia)

    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey